To my Secret Admirer

Dear Mr. Admirer,
I know you bought a rose for me,
But even though you put a note to it,
You know not how to deliver it,
It is not your first attempt,
You have written endless messages,
Though they remain in the confinement of your draftbox,
We may have met in a gathering of youths,
But you end up talking to the girl next to me,
Or passing me my pen when it falls,
Steal a glance and in haste disappear.

To you who is always watching in secret,
You who holds my hand at night,
You who harbors feelings for me,
For how long will you suffer for me?
How long will you carry this with you?

You have become a thief for glances,
You have trampled on stones for me,
Why don’t you gather a little courage,
Don’t be afraid I might say “NO”
Though I don’t promise to say “YES”
Be bold enough to face my heart,
My words will be gentle and soft,
Whether declining or accepting,
I will take care of your feelings.

Sherry 2017/2

Leave a Reply

